The world’s most popular genealogy collection—with census reports, city directories, public records, military records, immigration and naturalization records, and more. In-Library Use Only
Conduct genealogy and historical research by searching census records, family and local histories, the PERSI archive, Revolutionary War records, Freedman’s Bank applications, and the U.S. Serial Set.
This resource provides an index to 3,000,000 obituaries, death and marriage notices and other sources from Ohio from the 1810s to the present day. Actual obituaries may be ordered from over 60 partner libraries.
Newspaper archives, including many Ohio newspapers, as far back as the 1700s, with coverage of Newark newspapers from 1882-1977 with some gaps. In-Library Use Only
Access articles, obituaries, and more from 2002 to current issues from local newspaper the Newark Advocate.
Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Includes coverage from the Columbus Dispatch.
Use to locate buildings and neighborhoods from 1867 to 1970 and study the growth of towns and cities.
Browse Ohio Death Certificates and school records dating from 1858; photocopies of death certificates can be purchased online.
Links to over 99,000 genealogical web pages.
Ellis Island Immigration Records
Searchable database of immigrants who entered through the port of New York from 1892 to 1924.
Genealogical databases of LDS.
Searchable website that provides records for millions of cemetery records.
Genealogical Forms and Charts
Downloadable forms from Family Tree Magazine.
Collection of useful genealogical websites.
Granville Historical Society
Searcable index of the Granville Times newspaper from 1881-1941.
Licking County Ohio Research Links: LCGS
The Licking County Genealogical Society offers lists for: resources for beginners; free genealogy software; free downloadable forms; and researching in Licking County.
Ohio Death Records Index: Ohio Historical Society
Death records from 1913-1937.
Ohio Memory Project
Online scrapbook of Ohio History. Includes digital collection from the Licking County Library.
This site contains tools for finding immigration records, census records, vital records along with a number of other genealogical resources.
U.S. GenWeb Project
Genealogical research for every state and country in the U.S.
Vital Records Information: Ohio
Ohio Department of Health Vital Records (state and county links).
Vital Records Information: U.S. & Territories- Center for Disease Control
Links to official vital records sites.
Six historical atlases pertaining to Ohio and Licking County are kept in the Ohio Reference area.
Cemetery indexes covering each township in Licking County, plus Cedar Hill Cemetery in Newark. Available at the Ohio Reference Table.
Census and Census Indexes
City and County Directories
Directories from 1858 -1949 with gaps in early years are kept in the Reference Office; 1950+ on Ohio Reference shelves
Some early county records on microfilm of marriages, deaths, wills, civil dockets, Chancery records, Common Pleas, probate, immigration and naturalization.
Over 100 works by local authors. Use “local authors” as subject search in online catalog.
Shelved in OH REF and in Reference Office. Some copies circulate and are in open stacks.
Early records on microfilm and in books kept on Ohio Reference table.
Rosters of Ohio soldiers in the American Revolution, War of 1812, Civil War, Spanish-American War, and World War I, kept in the Ohio History area. Index for Civil War roster is on microfilm.
Newark newspapers from 1822 on microfilm, with gaps. Online access to Newark newspapers from 1882 to 1977 through Access NewspaperARCHIVE (In-Library Use Only) and 2002 to present through Newark Advocate (Proquest).
Please contact the Licking County Genealogical Society for all of your obituary needs.
Ohio Surname Index
An index on microfilm (64 rolls) of the materials available on surnames at the Ohio Historical Society.
A large collection of files on many family names, especially Parkinson, kept at Reference Desk.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
One roll of microfilm on Newark, Ohio, covering 1884, 1889, 1893, 1899, 1905, 1912 and 1920. The earliest three maps include Granville, Ohio. Available to library cardholders on the Licking County Library Website.
Indexes to Licking County tax records :1806, 1810, 1816, 1826. Microfilm records of property tax records for 1834 and 1840.
A large collection of clippings, pamphlets & other misc. materials on local history. Kept at Reference Desk along with a index for the files.
Mostly Newark High School since 1914, with some missing, misc. volumes of other schools. Ask at Reference Desk.
Licking County Genealogical Society
Upper Level of the Main Library
101 W. Main St.
Newark, OH 43055
Family History Center--Zanesville
330 Kearns Dr.
The Ohio Genealogical Society
611 State Route 97 W.
Belville, OH 44813
Columbus Metropolitan Library Genealogy Department
96 S Grant St.
Columbus, OH 43215
Licking County Probate Court
1 N Park Pl.
Newark, OH 43055
Birth and death records from 1875 to 1908. Marriage certificates from 1875-present.
Licking County Health Department
675 Price Rd.
Newark, OH 43055
Birth and death records for Licking County from 1907-present
Affordable Care Act | Antiques and Collectibles | Automotive | College and Test Preparation | Domestic Court Documents (Legal Forms) | Emergency Preparedness | Financial Help | Find Your Next Book! | Genealogy | Health and Wellness | Home and Garden | Job Searching and Adult Learning | Law and Government | Literature | Magazines and Newspapers | Senior and Caregiver Resources | Small Business Resources | Taxes | Veterans | Wedding